The song of March 29th, 2016

Hello!

The first song after my return to this blog is very special to me. It’s The Unwinding Cable Car from Anberlin, one of the bands I met after the last post, but it became my favorite band.

As a side comment, I met Anberlin on October 13th, 2014, and I was very sad when I read that they were already on the last tour and they would play their final show on November 26th. Still, I love their music.

Back to the song. This song makes me reflect on my decisions. The video kind of shows that, but there’s this line in the song that says “listening for voices, but it’s the choices that make us who we are“. The lyrics make me wonder “what if I had chosen something else?”

I was talking with a friend the other day and he asked me “if you had a time machine, what one thing would you change about your past?” After some time thinking, I decided to answer “nothing”. Yes, every choice has its consequence and some of them are not pretty. But still I regret nothing. Every decision I made has led to who I am now and I think this is the best version of me.

Sure, some Karl could have studied computer science and be a master programmer. Or maybe he did study CS and realized it’s not what he wanted. Some Karl could have gone to another high school and learned different lessons. But the truth is we actually can’t know what is it like in what-if land. We have to live our own story and make it the best of all. This is something I learned and I’m living up to it. I’m going to be the best Karl I could ever be.

I hope you like the song and have a nice day!

– Karl

Leave a Reply

