The song of April 3rd, 2016

Hi!

I finally caught up with the updates. Also, today’s Sunday. It’s International Sunday! Today’s song is in German. It is Still (Silent) by Jupiter Jones.

During 2015, we were taking care of two dogs, which we called Tina and Mika. They were puppies and hence adorable. I quickly fell in love with them. We had them for six months, until they got some disease which affects a lot of puppies, and is fatal in most cases. They got worse until there was nothing we could do.

The day they passed away, I was sad, but I couldn’t cry. I felt a terrible guilt because of my lack of tears (I felt as if I didn’t really love them, but I knew I had loved them). I somehow needed to listen to this song. I put it on replay and, although I couldn’t quite understand the lyrics, I felt this was the right song for the moment. I had this sadness which I couldn’t express through tears, but words wouldn’t help neither. My dogs passed away and I couldn’t cry. I felt terrible.

After some time, I looked for the translation of the lyrics and found them. I was shocked because the song expressed precisely what I was feeling. It was like there was some sort of connection which transcended language barriers. Since then, this song has become one of my favorites. This song helped me understand my feelings on that day, even if I couldn’t understand the lyrics.

In that moment, I found that music is powerful. It can heal, it can be there when no one is. It can say things you can’t. And this was an example of the universality of music, where words are not required to express something. Sometimes a song can do a lot.

It’s because of experiences like this that I will keep on with this blog. And I hope you like this song.

– Karl


P.S. You can read the original (German) and translated (to English) lyrics here.

Original

So still, dass jeder von uns wusste, das hier ist
für immer, für immer und ein Leben und es war
so still, dass jeder von uns ahnte, hierfür gibts kein Wort,
das jemals das Gefühl beschreiben kann.

So still, dass alle Uhren schwiegen,
ja, die Zeit kam zum Erliegen.
So still und so verloren gingst du fort.
So still und so verloren gingst du fort.

Ich hab soviel gehört und doch kommts niemals bei mir an.
Das ist der Grund, warum ich nachts nicht schlafen kann.
Wenn ich auch tausend Lieder von Vermissen schreib,
heißt das noch nicht, dass ich versteh,
warum dieses Gefül für immer bleibt.

So laut, die Stunden nach dem Aufschlag als es galt,
das alles zu erfassen und verstehen und es war
so laut, dass alles, was wir dachten
nichts als Leere zu uns brachte.
So laut und so verloren war es hier,
als Stille bei uns wohnte anstatt dir.

Ich hab soviel gehört und doch kommts niemals bei mir an.
Das ist der Grund, warum ich nachts nicht schlafen kann.
Wenn ich auch tausend Lieder von Vermissen schreib,
heißt das noch nicht, dass ich versteh,
warum dieses Gefül für immer bleibt.

So still, obwohl ich dich mit jedem Tag vermiss,
und wo immer du auch gerade bist,
du zeigst mir, dass Stille jetzt dein Freund geworden ist.

Ich hab soviel gehört und doch kommts niemals bei mir an.
Das ist der Grund, warum ich nachts nicht schlafen kann.
Wenn ich auch tausend Lieder von Vermissen schreib,
heißt das noch nicht, dass ich versteh.
Heißt das noch nicht, dass ich versteh.

Ich hab soviel gehört und doch kommts niemals bei mir an.
Das ist der Grund, warum ich nachts nicht schlafen kann.
Wenn ich auch tausend Lieder von Vermissen schreib,
heißt das noch nicht, dass ich versteh,
warum dieses Gefül für immer bleibt.


English

So silent that each one of us knew that
this is forever, forever and a lifetime and it was
so silent that each one of us felt there is no word
that ever could describe this feeling.

So silent that all the clocks were silent,
yes, the time came to a stop.
So silent and lost you went away.
So silent and lost you went away.

I’ve heard so much yet I never understand.
This is the reason that I can’t sleep at night.
Even if I write a thousand songs about missing,
that doesn’t mean I understand
why this feeling stays forever.

So loud, the hours after the hit when it counted
to notice everything and understand and it was
so loud that everything we thought
just brought us emptiness.
It was so loud and lost here.
Since silence lived with us instead of you.

I’ve heard so much yet I never understand.
This is the reason that I can’t sleep at night.
Even if I write a thousand songs about missing,
that doesn’t mean I understand
why this feeling stays forever.

So silent, although I miss you every day,
and wherever you are right now,
you show me that silence has now become your friend.

I’ve heard so much yet I never understand.
This is the reason that I can’t sleep at night.
Even if I write a thousand songs about missing,
that doesn’t mean I understand.
That doesn’t mean I understand.

I’ve heard so much yet I never understand.
This is the reason that I can’t sleep at night.
Even if I write a thousand songs about missing,
that doesn’t mean I understand
why this feeling stays forever.

Leave a Reply

